Tandem

What is Tandem Learning?

Tandem language learning is a method of language learning based on mutual language exchange between tandem partners (ideally each learner is a native speaker in the language the tandem-partner would like to learn).

Registration

You can sign up for the tandem project here. Once you have indicated the language you would like to learn – your proficiency and the language you can teach someone – the system on the website automatically assigns you a tandem partner, who matches your location and the languages you would like to learn or improve. (Please be aware that it is possible, and even likely to happen, that there is no matching tandem partner at the moment and it may take some time before you get assigned to a language partner. Thus, please have some patience, especially if the languages you are planning to teach/learn are not that common in the area you live.) As a next step, your email address and name will be forwarded to your prospective language partner and vice versa.

How Does it Work? 

Two language partners meet in their free time in a learning environment in a public setting. They both have to agree on time, date and location for their language meetings. The duration is flexible and should be agreed between the tandem partners. Please make sure that both of you have equal chances to learn the language i.e. the classical style is that half the time is dedicated to one language, the other half to the other language. For example, a Portuguese and a German can talk half an hour in German and afterwards half an hour in Portuguese. In case you cannot make it to the agreed language session, please inform your tandem partner in advance. Bear in mind that the tandem project is totally voluntary. Hence, should you wish to withdraw from the tandem partnership, simply let your tandem partner know.

Terms & Conditions

Personal data supplied by tandem users are stored only for the purpose of connecting tandem partners and for internal use (anonymous statistics). Should you wish to withdraw from the project and your personal data to be deleted, please send an email to queermigs@haz.ch. The tandem service is for free. The responsibility to organize the tandem meeting according to needs, time and preferences lies with the tandem users only. Especially the first language meetings should occur in a public place – for example cafés, bars, libraries or parks. Queer Migs neither guarantees the successful learning of a language nor the safety and good behaviour of tandem partners. The users must make sure their tandem partners are reliable, risk free and not dangerous persons. Any form of abuse should be reported to queermigs@haz.ch. Finally, Queer Migs shall not be responsible and shall not be held liable for any harm or inconvenience occasioned to users by the use of Queer Migs tandem project.

Login

Newsletter

Upcoming Events

Mar
21
Thu
20:00 Queer & Beer @ Xylo
Queer & Beer @ Xylo
Mar 21 @ 20:00 – 22:00
[:en]Queer & Beer[:it]Queer & Beer[:de]Queer & Beer[:fr]Queer & Beer[:fa]رویدادها[:rb]Queer & Beer[:] @ Xylo | Zürich | Zürich | Switzerland
Open appointment for LGBT people and friends. We meet for drinks and spend a nice evening together. There is no need for an application, everyone is welcome to drop by spontaneously. If you can’t find[...]
Apr
3
Wed
20:00 Movie Night – TBD @ HAZ Centro
Movie Night – TBD @ HAZ Centro
Apr 3 @ 20:00 – 23:00
[:en]Movie Night - TBD[:it]Movie Night – TBD[:de]Movie Night – TBD[:fr]Movie Night – TBD[:fa]Movie Night – TBD[:rb]Movie Night - TBD[:] @ HAZ Centro | Zürich | Zürich | Schweiz
The new Queer Migs movie night is here. Come by and watch “La Virgen De Los Sicarios” with us. It’s surely not an easy movie, but don’t worry, there will be some snacks and drinks[...]

Tandem

Qu’est-ce que l’apprentissage en Tandem ?

Le Tandem est une façon de pratiquer une langue étrangère à travers un échange réciproque entre deux partenaires. Dans l’idéal l’un souhaite apprendre la langue maternelle de l’autre.

Inscription

L’inscription au projet Tandem se fait ici. Après avoir entré la langue que tu souhaites apprendre et la langue que tu es capable d’enseigner à quelqu’un, le système t’attribue automatiquement un-e partenaire de Tandem, qui vit à proximité et présente le profil de langues voulu. (Il est possible qu’aucun-e partenaire de Tandem ne corresponde à tes souhaits pour le moment et que cela prenne un peu de temps avant que le système ne trouve un-e partenaire approprié-e. Dans ce cas, merci de faire preuve de patience). Dans un second temps, adresse email et nom de chacun seront transmis au partenaire de Tandem. Une fois que tu auras les coordonées de ton partenaire, c’est à vous de prendre contact. Dans un second temps, adresse email et nom de chacun seront transmis au partenaire de Tandem.

Comment ça marche ?

Les partenaires de langues se rencontrent durant leur temps libre dans un lieu public approprié. Les deux personnes se mettent d’accord sur la date, l’heure et le lieu de leur rendez-vous Tandem. La durée de la rencontre peut varier et doit être clarifiée auparavant. Chacun des partenaires doit avoir la même chance d’apprendre une langue étrangère, c’est-à-dire qu’un temps équivalent doit être consacré à chacune des langues. Par exemple, les partenaires d’un Tandem portuguais-allemand peuvent discuter tout d’abord une demi-heure en l’allemand puis une demi-heure en portuguais. Si tu ne peux pas te présenter au rendez-vous, tu dois en informer ton/ta partenaire de Tandem. Merci de considérer que le projet Tandem est totalement volontaire. Si tu souhaites mettre un terme au partenariat, informes-en simplement ton/ta partenaire.

Conditions d’utilisation

Les données personnelles des utilisateurs du Tandem seront uniquement enregistrées dans le but de mettre en relation des partenaires de Tandem et pour un usage interne (statistiques anonymes). La personne inscrite peut demander à tout moment la résiliation de sa participation et la suppression de ses données personnelles par email à l’adresse suivante queermigs@haz.ch. Le service Tandem est gratuit. Les utilisateurs du Tandem prennent la responsabilité de l’organisation des rencontres de Tandem, de leurs exigences, du temps passé et de leurs préférences. Les premières rencontres Tandem doivent en particulier avoir lieu dans un endroit public, par exemple dans un café, un bar, une bibliothèque ou un parc. Queer Migs ne garantie ni le succès de l’apprentissage de la langue, ni la sécurité ou le comportement approprié des utilisateurs du Tandem. Les utilisateurs doivent s’assurer eux-même que leur partenaire de Tandem soit fiable et inoffensif. Toute forme d’abus doit être communiquée à queermigs@haz.ch. Queer Migs ne sera en aucun cas tenu responsable des dommages ou désagréments auxquels les utilisateurs du Tandem Queer Migs pourraient être confrontés.

Login

Newsletter

Upcoming Events

Sep
10
mar
20:00 Movie Night – TBD @ HAZ Centro
Movie Night – TBD @ HAZ Centro
Sep 10 @ 20:00 – 23:00
[:en]Movie Night - TBD[:it]Movie Night – TBD[:de]Movie Night – TBD[:fr]Movie Night – TBD[:fa]Movie Night – TBD[:rb]Movie Night - TBD[:] @ HAZ Centro | Zürich | Zürich | Schweiz
More info soon!
Oct
1
mar
20:00 Queer & Beer @ TBD
Queer & Beer @ TBD
Oct 1 @ 20:00 – 22:00
[:en]Queer & Beer[:it]Queer & Beer[:de]Queer & Beer[:fr]Queer & Beer[:fa]رویدادها[:rb]Queer & Beer[:] @ TBD | Zürich | Zürich | Switzerland
Rencontre ouverte pour personnes LGBT et leurs ami-e-s. Nous nous retrouvons pour un verre et passons une soirée détendue ensemble. Pas besoin de s’annoncer, tout le monde est bienvenu à tout moment. Si tu ne[...]